Hein
Newly Registered

1st Time Gardener and total Noob

Hey

So after I Introduced myself I just thought I should post a pic or 3 about the area I am working with. I will go full speed ahead when spring comes along again. I am thinking of going with raised beds but getting wood is a problem. But what I do have is a ample supply of concrete blocks. I have seen a few grows where people use them.

What do you guys think

And yeah, that soil is DEAD !!!

Love and Light

Hein
The "graveyard".
The "graveyard".
The soil.
The soil.
100_5021.JPG

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Hi and welcome to the Forum! That soil does indeed look dead. I think raised beds are a good choice in that situation -- you can just fill them with good soil and not worry so much about what is beneath. My house came with very little flat land, mostly hillside. The best flat garden spot was covered with concrete patio, so I built two raised beds on top of that. Since your situation is somewhat similar, I suggest you do as I did and build your beds deeper than is typical, so it doesn't matter so much whether your plants can ever root down into the underlying soil, at least 12", 16" or half a meter would be better. Concrete blocks are ok to build them out of.