dobro13

Brandywine Tomatoes Anybody?

I’m awaiting 4 Brandywine seedlings to pop up in a couple of days. Anybody else growing these this year? This is my first try at heirlooms. :shock:

kayjay
Green Thumb

Me. :) I first bought a Brandywine seedling at a grocery store in 2014. I've saved the seeds ever since. They're slowpokes but worth the wait; they're easily my favorite tasting tomato.

HoneyBerry
Greener Thumb

Good choice. I usually plant at least one Brandywine. Last year I had an extra large tomato on my heirloom Brandywine plant. Heirlooms are so much fun to grow.
I have been feeling overwhelmed, so I decided to scale back on gardening stuff, so no tomato plants this year. All I have this year are Honey Berries.

PaulF
Greener Thumb

I have grown maybe ten of the 15-20 varieties with the name Brandywine connected with a variety of tomato. Some are slower than others. Some produce more than others, but most all are worth the wait.

applestar
Mod

This year, I’m growing ‘Yellow Brandywine’ from seeds my MIL saved from fruits produced by farmer’s market-purchased plants.

The leaves are potato leaf — so they appear to be conforming to type so far.

pepperhead212
Super Green Thumb

I've grown a couple of the BW varieties, but was not impressed, so didn't grow either again. Very late, not productive, disease prone, in one of the bad years, and both were in the middle of the taste tests of those years. So I gave up on them.

dobro13

I’m got some slowly popping up now. I’m looking forward to the challenge.

dobro13

So far, so good. The plants are still small but look healthy.

catdaddy66

Just put my first brandywine tomatoes in the ground! Had six recently purchased and honestly got them due to hearing so much about them so pulled the trigger and decided this is the year to grow some.

I kind of went heirloom bonkers this season because I could lol... Can't wait to try it soon!

imafan26
Mod