Northernfox
Greener Thumb

Maintaining heirloom tomatoes with out cross pollination

Gixx was nice enough to send me some heirloom dwarf tomatoes!! I do have a question though. Hot far apart physically should I keep the three types if I want to keep them pure?

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

You do know that is only relevant if you intend to save the seeds and grow them out the following year? Cross pollination does not affect the fruit produced this year only the seeds in that fruit.

But if you do want to save the seeds and maintain a pure line, best is to bag the flowers before they open and get pollinated. Next best is to plant them a quarter mile apart. Third best is to plant at least 25 feet apart with some barrier crop in between.

Northernfox
Greener Thumb

That is the tentative plan. I have limited experience saving seeds :)

As I don't have a quarter mile or probably even 25 feet I'll try the bating of a few flowers to get te true fruit line :) what would be the best to do that with ?

applestar
Mod

Northernfox, I'm NOT trying to be a "stick in the mud." Just that it's all better described here:
:arrow: https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/vi ... 15&t=27803

When I post links, I'm not usually trying to be like -- "you should know this was described before"... More like "oh I remember seeing that somewhere ... Here it is! Take a look and see if this helps :D"

Northernfox
Greener Thumb

Sorry I did not see the link posted on my Phone. Ill check it out thanks!

gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

Organza (sp) bags work well. I got mine at a local craft store (Micahael's). I have strayed away from it though in my hot humid climate I lost more trusses with bags than not. Maybe I should have don't this earlier in the season.

If you can't find anything PM and I can send you a few.

Dono

tomc
Super Green Thumb

Hooped fabric-cover, well weighted down (on the edges) set out for two to four weeks will get you most of the way to where you want to get.