MsLily
Newly Registered

Roses are wrong color

I have been growing roses for a few years now and never had any problem until now. In April I moved into a new house and so I purchased new roses. Tiffany, Granada and Sterling Silver. They are growing and blooming wonderfully. The problem is that not a single one of them is the correct color. Tiffany has a red bud, it is supposed to be a pale pink. Granada has a stunning white rose on it, not the striking rosy pink and gold I was expecting. And Sterling Silver, well at least it is still in the purple family. Only it is a deep dark ruby purple, not the pale silvery lavender I hoped for. Can anyone please tell me what on earth happened here? They are all gorgeous roses...they are just not what I purchased. I feed with Bayer Systemic and they all get plenty of sun and water. Thanks for your thoughts. :)

kevinschoppe
Cool Member

It is a weird how we posted the same question within a short period of time.

My inital thoughts are maybe the grower / store where you got the roses from might have mis-labeled the pots. I have seen this happen before.

However, I have posted a simular question for Granpda Rose, HG or someone to answer. In my case, the J&P tag, pot, & Instructions all have the same name on them. So I am thinking in my case it might be lack of something cause. I know there is something missing that you can add to help with the color of the roses.

We shall see what the great minds can think up of, to help us in our problems.

grandpasrose
Greener Thumb

Well MsLily, it sure sounds like a bunch of mixed up roses to me!!! :roll:

You're right, Tiffany should be a pink rose, with a hint of salmon, petal backs that are paler, and a yellow blush near the centre.
Granada, is definitely not white! It is a varying mix of orange, gold, pink and yellow.
Sterling Silver is a very light mauve.

I'm not sure where you got your roses, but in your case, I think that mislabelling is the culprit.