FloridaRosesJay
Newly Registered

Rooted clipping from climbing rose now around 5 years old and won't bloom

Hi everyone first off thanks for any help in answering this question in advance, as I am still new to gardening I have some experience with roses and vegetable gardening.

My now close to 5 year old climbing rose that I rooted from my old house which was a 9-10ft tall climbing rose red in color big fragrant blooms. But for some reason ever since I moved into our new home and brought a rooting from the climbing rose, it stunted the growth in the soil I had it in, note this is NW FL beaches so it has some sand soil mixed in but we live right beside a fresh water lake, the plant has since been divided into three separate climbers. One I gave to my brother to have at his house, the original stalk I have in our front yard it is not close to 15 ft tall and bushed around 4 ft but I have not since seen this rose bloom after I transplanted the rooting. The climbing rose looks and seems healthy in all ways there are some dying leaves but if anyone knows the answer it would be much helpful. As to why my climbing rose bush won't bloom. Have been fertilizing for close to 3 months now and no success with buds or blooms.

imafan26
Mod

Even tough you live near a fresh water lake, if you live anywhere close to a coastline and you have a sand based soil it could cause issues. Most roses are salt sensitive a few cultivars may have some salt tolerance. Roses are acidic plants they don't like coral or sandy soils for the most part because the base is alkaline.