lil.guppy
Newly Registered
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:00 pm

Did I plant it deep enough? (pic included)

I just re potted this and wanted to know if its deep enough. About an inch below the soil is a knot with the large chunky roots and mini roots coming off that ball. I did not know if it was that ball or this ball shown. I did have the soil up to the ball pictured and think it was planted too deep so I repoted it to this depth.
Thank you for your help! :lol:
[img]https://a723.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/80/m_d85535b8b342bdf59a0efd19392d1232.jpg[/img]

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb
Posts: 4659
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 9:58 pm
Location: Victoria, BC

If you buried the entire root ball, then it is deep enough.

doccat5
Green Thumb
Posts: 399
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:48 pm
Location: VA

If this is a grafted rose, you buried the graft (that's the knot) that needs to be above the soil line for the rose to do well. If you're talking a bare roots rose then what you have there should be fine.
doccat5

I'd rather be gardening!

Return to “Rose Forum”