rzw0wr
Newly Registered

Roses not doing well.

Hello all.
I just joined this forum today.
I am very new to roses.
All of my roses are newly planted this spring.
I have no idea what the names of my roses are or what type.
I just buy them and plant them because I like the color.

It is August here in Indiana and it has rained a little this month so far.
Possibly an inch over all.

I have a question about my roses.

1) I have a blue/lavender colored rose that has been planted about 4 months.
The rose has done well since planting.
Last week I noticed that leaves on this rose was turning yellow/green on the older leaves.
The new growth will start out red then will quickly turn yellow with the edges the red color.

I have looked up the problem on the internet and got several possibility's as to what the problem my be.
Calcium deficiency, potassium deficiency or possibly nitrogen deficiency.
It was suggested to add Boric acid, bone meal or nitrogen.

I have added a picture of this rose.

It produced buds and bloomed OK for a new plant.

All of the other roses in this garden are looking good.

Any help with this problem would be greatly appreciated.

Yellowing rose.jpg

imafan26
Mod

Roses are heavy feeders and should be fed after every bloom cycle. If you have not been doing that, it could be why the lower leaves are yellow. Roses like a good soak once or twice a week but they do not like standing water. Standing water can cause the roots to rot so make sure the roses are on high well drained ground. I see black spot on the leaves. It is a common problem when it is very humid or has been raining a lot. You can remove the diseased leaves and put them in the trash, keep fallen leaves picked up and fungicide when the whether is humid or you can use systemic rose care. The 3in1 formula contains fertilizer butI use 2 in 1 rose care and feed the roses with citrus food, rose food, or miracle grow for acid loving plants.

ElizabethB
Super Green Thumb