Biscuit
Newly Registered

roses lost their color

I bought a GORGEOUS rose bush (a floribunda). It was this amazing coral/pink vibrant color. I fell in love with it and had to have it. I came home and planted it right away.

It started to die and I think it was because the soil had too much clay (poor drainage). I am new to gardening so I had to look up the reason why it could be dying and it looks like the reason was the soil.

I bought a large planter and put potting soil in it, some perlite and the rose bush. I have given it some rose tone. I have been clipping the dead stuff.

It has started to come back. phew! But, now it is a pale boring dull cream color :( :cry: :( :roll: :( :cry: I'm really sad about this. My fiancé threw out the receipt; so I can't try returning it. :cry:

How do I get the color back???

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

I expect the reason is stress. Flowers can change colors or fade when they are stressed and transplant shock is certainly a severe stress, not to mention that it was already very stressed before you transplanted it. So if you can nurse it back to health, it will probably come back.

Other things that can affect the flower color:

Pigments in roses are UV sensitive especially yellow pigments but most colors shift with time and continued exposure. Some red or pink roses fade when exposed to too much direct sun, due to breaking down of the pigment exposed to UV rays. Strong colors in complex combinations show the greatest variability as tiny changes in one of the rose's pigments can shift the perceived color quite a bit.