kricket0912
Newly Registered

Look what popped up through my rose bush! :)

I'm new to this Forum but I'm becoming a regular with roses :) They seem to be the only thing I get get to grow. haha I'm still learning the different types of roses, there's so many kinds.
I was deadheading my big ol' rose bush and I noticed pink buds coming right up through the middle. I don't know what kind of rose it is, it's full of thorns! It's pretty though. Just wanted to share. It was a nice surprise and I've had this rose bush for a few years and just recently saw this new one hanging out. I was considering cutting it off before it started showing buds because it stuck so far up above the bush, I'm glad I didn't :D :-() Have a great day! oh, anyone know what kind of rose it is? I wonder how it got there, because I definitely didn't plant it, but it's welcome to stay for sure.
Attachments
11150575_10206881789109512_3561380985273407815_n.jpg
11188273_10206881788429495_2786025150007840656_n.jpg

applestar
Mod

It looks like your lively dark red one is a hybrid tea cultivar. Trace down the pink one and make sure it/they are not growing from the base of the red one.

Usually, rose that is not the planted one is growing from the root stock (hybrid teas are always grafted). Typically, I get dark maroon single with yellow center. If this pink one is a sucker from the to it stock, it's a nice one -- maybe some kind of a shrub rose.

If it is indeed suckering from the root stock, you will probably have to sacrifice it because it is obviously more vigorous than the hybrid tea and will steal all the nutrients and water.

kricket0912
Newly Registered

Cool! I didn't know that! :) I'll look it to see if it's growing from the base, I don't want it to steal any nutrients from the planted one, I am kind of attached to this rose bush especially. Thank you for the info, I learned something new today.

imafan26
Mod