Annuta
Newly Registered

Rose's leaves turning yellow

Hi all!

I recently began growing roses on my balcony. I currently have seven roses and they all seem to be doing very well, except one.

The rose's leaves are beginning to turn yellow, starting at the base of the leaf. I uploaded a picture to illustrate: https://www.flickr.com/photos/80372716@N05/7184454283/

The soil is moist, but not overly saturated. I last fertilized all the plants, including this rose, two weeks ago with regular houseplant fertilizer from Miracle Gro (I have a better, rose-specific fertilizer arriving today).

The flowers themselves seem to be doing fine, but the leaves concern me. I'm very new to roses and have a lot to learn, so any ideas/tips/suggestions would be much appreciated!

Thank you!
Anna

aw713
Newly Registered

Hi, plant looks healthy and blooms are perfect; it appears you may be watering too much. Roses do not like to sit in water. Try watering less often.

Annuta
Newly Registered

Thank you for the tip! I will water that particular rose a bit less often. All seven roses get the same watering schedule, but perhaps this one's needs are different.

Hopefully it's as simple as watering less, because I love this rose and don't want it to get sick!

Anna

Alexandra
Newly Registered

My iceberg leaves start turning yellow and burned last summer. I planted these roses 3 years ago. I have 17 bushes.
I furtilize them once in 6 weeks. I used organic furtilizer with potassium and with rose formula from Summerwinds nursery, I used sulfur and iron furtilizers, I applied the home depot rose furtilizer Vigaro .I pruned them a few weeks ago as well. But nothing changed.
I water my roses 3 times a week, 12 minutes. I tried to water them less often, even once per week, but nothing has been changed.
May be somebody knows what else should I do to stop my roses leaves to look burned and flowers on these steams to look tiny and not healthy?