grok
Newly Registered

Please help me with this overgrown mess (pics included)

Hi! This is a rental house with hedges that appear to not have been maintained in over two years. When I moved in, things were already overgrown, but over the last couple of months we had some decent rain, and the mild summer (relative to last year) here in central Texas resulted in things shooting up and getting out of control.

I'm new to this, just bought some hedge shears and realized that I'm not going to use them because if I were to cut away things to a reasonable height, there would be nothing to shape! lol! So, I understand that this may be a long recovery process, and I may not even be living here when the plants become bushy again, but I'd like to put things on the right path for whomever moves in next. I do have a pruning/cutter tool (the long wooden handles and the short, heavy-duty cutting part at the other end).

I expect that the strategy will depend on the plants themselves, but I'm not sure what they are called. There are two main plants that need the most attention. Then there is a palm (I know to just remove the dead fronds) and an evergreen (which I think I just need to shape, and maybe cut a bit off the top.

Here are some pictures. These plants are in front of a bedroom window between the garage and the front porch.

From the front, looking at the right part of the group:

From in front of the porch, looking at the left side of the group -- the Virtex at the far left is potted, though the roots have gone through the pot, so that will be dug up and moved to the back yard: