tallslenderguy
Newly Registered

greenhouse on raised perimeter

Hi all,
New to this group and did a quick search, but did not find this topic in particular. I've been growing organically for over 30 years, owned a few farms as well, but have never had a green house. I am now living in an urban setting in Oregon USA and would like to have a small greenhouse to go with my 9 4x10ft raised cedar beds. I have a great space that will accommodate a 8x12 foot greenhouse. My idea is to build two raised beds (probably 30"x12') with a center aisle, with a 4' bed across the back. What I would like to do is have beds that are about 30" high (made from 2x12 cedar) and utilize the beds as the perimeter walls. I'd like to purchase a kit greenhouse to set on top of the perimeter bed walls, which would raise the overall height of the green house. The height of the beds would depend somewhat on the greenhouse I am setting on them.

The challenge I am finding is that most kit greenhouses are set on a metal base that runs the entire perimeter, including the door. I would need to lower the door to account for the raised perimeter foundation and am looking for a kit greenhouse that would work for that purpose without having to build the whole greenhouse from scratch. I'm sure I'm not the first to think of this, but an online search has not produced kits that I could use in this way without doing some cutting on the kit foundation. wondering if anyone knows of kit greenhouse that does not have a threshold that is incorporated into the greenhouse base?
thanks

applestar
Mod

OK — my immediate thought was why not just make it a sunken greenhouse... then I was thinking Oregon... do you get too much rain?