whitneym
Newly Registered

All Year Growing In Texas

Hi everyone, so I am pretty new at gardening (as in I have attempted, unsuccessfully to garden before but it has not worked out so well :oops: ). I recently moved and me and my boyfriend are renting a house from some friends with a decent sized yard. We can do whatever we want in the house/yard although out of respect for the people we are renting from I don't want to build a permanent greenhouse and ideally would like to be able to move all the gardening supplies somewhat easily to a different location if we choose to change jobs and move. I was thinking about mostly trying container gardening with some raised plant beds, I want to grow herbs, veggies, and fruit. I would ideally like to be able to garden year round and have been reading up on it, but would really like some advice specific to my situation and would like some opinions from more experienced people on if my expectations are practical.

I live in Northern Texas, the lows here in the winter are typically around 30 at night and every once in awhile we get some snow with an actual freeze, but for the most part the weather is mild in the winter and somewhat unpredictable with some days getting up to 70. So I was thinking that if I did some raised plant beds in a row I could cover them over the winter. I'm not sure if just covering each bed individually and trying to convince my boyfriend to have a little plant room in the house (and my cats not to eat them) would be best.