lovely_star

Zone 7 Perennial Vine Suggestions

Hello fellow gardeners,

I planted trellising Morning Glory and Blue Passion Flowers (as seen in picture) thinking that they were perennials that would return this spring. However, from the looks of things that seems highly unlikely. This is my first time experimenting with trellising perennials and I am not sure where I went wrong exactly. Was I supposed to treat or prepare the plants with something to protect them during overwintering? I guess I have no choice but to cut down the dead vines and start over? I'd appreciate some zone 7b suggestions that are REAL trellising perennials that I could plant this season and would definitely return annually. I prefer something that is pretty and flowers...if it is fragrant, even better! TIA :D

Lindsaylew82
Super Green Thumb

You could plant some Hardy Kiwi on those! It comes back every year, it's pretty, and it makes FOOD! Yaaaaaas!

applestar
Mod

You might have morning glory seedlings popping up everywhere right now or within the next couple of weeks, unless yours were triploids (I think is the correct term) didn't go to seed? Maypop (P. Incarnata) is the passionflower variety that is hardy ...to Zone 6 I think?... in the north. I wonder if your passionflower might still grow from the roots? I don't know how early they start to grow....

Have you considered native trumpet honeysuckle? Red/orange and better behaved but not fragrant (not the invasive yellow or white fragrant Asian species), but SUPER attractive to hummingbirds and in full bloom right now here. I already saw one yesterday. Long Island should be in the Eastern Seaboard Migration corridor so if you have them, they will visit.

Grapes would be fun, too....

...or this