beardown27
Newly Registered

Are my perennials gone for good?- Weed-Be-Gone

I'm new to gardening--as evidenced by my mistake below. Any help would be appreciated!

I planted a number of new perennials this year, a few knockout rose bushes, and several other plants. On the advice of someone at the hardware store, I used Weed-Be-Gone to control the weeds, and was told that it would be OK to spray widely. Unfortunately, the new plants have shrivled, and look very sickly. Are these plants gone for good? I've been watering actively, and we've gotten tons of rain this spring, but I'm concerned that I poisoned my plants.

I also have some more mature rose bushes and other bushes which seem to have resisted the poison fairly well--but I guess the overall question is--if a plant looks sickly from a weed-be-gone treatment--is it done for good?

Thanks!

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

I'm sorry you were given such bad information. If it were I, I would go back to the store and tell the person they should stop giving out advice on subjects they clearly know nothing about. :(

I think it might depend on how long ago you applied the Weed-B-Gone. If it was done several weeks ago, and your plants aren't completely dead-looking yet, then there might be some chance that enough of the root system survived to support new growth.

I would watch the plants closely for a few months to see if any new growth appears. If none does, then you'll probably have to replace the plants. Young plants may be more susceptible to the herbicide than older, established plants.

Do not make the mistake of fertilizing any plants in an effort to help them survive. When plants are under stress, fertilizer will only make the situation worst by causing additional root damage. Also, be careful not to overwater them. Damaged plants won't be able to use more water than usual, and the roots won't be able to absorb it. Excess water will just set the stage for root rot.

Good luck to you! :!:

rainbowgardener