lorihope
Newly Registered

transplanting perennials

I'm new at gardening...is the fall a good time to transplant perennials or should I wait until spring?

Newt
Greener Thumb

Hi Lorihope,

Yes, it is for most perennials. Were there any in particular you wanted to transplant?

Newt

Grey
Greener Thumb

I spent most of the day yesterday moving plants around and getting them settled in. Most things appreciate going in the ground now, where they have the winter to work on developing a root system, before spring and hot weather hits. It's supposed to be better for most plants to go in now, instead of mid to late Spring when they haven't had a chance to get used to their new surroundings before Summer's brutal heat hits them.

you can trans;plant them in the spring or fall after they have flowered fall is best though as someone said

Newt
Greener Thumb

Hosta is one plant that comes to mind as doing better transplanted in spring.

Newt

opp2

Grey wrote:I spent most of the day yesterday moving plants around and getting them settled in. Most things appreciate going in the ground now, where they have the winter to work on developing a root system, before spring and hot weather hits. It's supposed to be better for most plants to go in now, instead of mid to late Spring when they haven't had a chance to get used to their new surroundings before Summer's brutal heat hits them.
I'm curious about this. I suspect when I put in my plants in the fall, (new juniper, rose of sharon) won't they stay dormant til spring in my zone?

Newt
Greener Thumb

Opp2, fall is a great time to plant as the air temps are cool while the ground is still warm. There is also less pests around and usually more consistante rainfall. The plants will concentrate on establishing their root systems.

Newt

opp2