princess_saucer

Impatiens, are they perennials?

I have several, beautiful impatiens. Can they be grown as houseplants? Or are they a"one-season", "die each year" plant? I tried to root one in a glass of water and it got roots. What do I need to do now? Will the piece that I rooted in water actually grow into a plant? I know these are probably silly, small questions but I am still new to all of this.. Thanks so much

bullthistle
Greener Thumb

They are an annual in TN, but will live year round however becoming a house plant makes it difficult. They may get leggy reaching for the sun. If you have a sun room that is temperature controlled that would be best. Even if they get leggy you can root a cutting and replant in the spring. Try it and you'll find out. Experiment.

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

Your questions are fine, not trivial or silly at all. We only learn if we ask questions. Everyone here was a new gardener at one time, and while some of us are more experienced than others, none of us knows everything there is to know on the subject. :)

Yes, impatiens could work as houseplants, but they would need more care than when grown outdoors. When the temperature reaches 75º, which is a fairly normal indoor temperature, impatiens will require fairly high humidity, about 50%. That can be difficult to provide in a house. Placing the potted plants on humidity trays helps a lot. Just use a waterproof tray, fill it with a layer of gravel (I used to use aquarium gravel, which comes in many different colors, and I have even used clear glass marbles in some instances), and keep the tray filled with water to just below the surface of the gravel. You don't want the bottoms of the pots to be in the water. Using a mister to spray the plants helps, as well.