lezlebontemproule
Newly Registered

clematis

Hi. I'm very new to gardening. I've always wanted the space for a garden but never had it until Katrina took our home and we bought a house in the country.

So please bear with me if I have a lot of questions. I have bought books and am waiting for them to come in, but I'm an instant gratification person.

Ok, so when it says sun/partial shade, is it ok to plant it where it gets shad part of the day and sun the other part.

I planted to clematis today, but I'm not sure how well they will do since they will get direct afternoon sun. Should I try to move them to a more shaded area (I'm very limited with shaded areas). I love clematis, so I hope it will work.

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

The number of hours of shade and hours of sun could make a difference. If the vine isn't getting direct sun in the hottest part of the afternoon, it should be okay. My clematis is on the west side of my house, but it is shaded by the overhang from my porch roof. The sun doesn't hit it directly until about 2 or 2:30 p.m., and by 4:30 or 5:00, it is shaded by one of the street trees. :)

lezlebontemproule
Newly Registered

I just read on the internet a saying for clematis "sun on the head, but not on the feet". Since mine will be getting direct sun in the summer afternoon, it recommended planting a small shrub in front of it to save the roots from the heat.

Does this sound right?

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

A general rule that I've often heard regarding clematis is that [they like their head in the sun and their feet in the shade.] So you may want to provide fairly deep mulch, or block the sun from the roots by a low growing shrub or a good sized container plant. Also, depending upon the plant's location, you may have a problem with the light/heat that gets reflected off of the house in the hot afternoon. If the direct sun is early afternoon and it gets filtered light in the hot late afternoon period, the plant will likely do fine.