dmconnor
Newly Registered

Help with Monkshood (and others)

I'm pretty new to gardening, and live in the eastern part of Canada. I just planted my first perennial garden late this summer, and I'm not sure what I need to do to winterize the plants. I have monkshood (which just bloomed!!!!!). Do I need to cut them back every year, or leave them? Do they need to be staked?

I also have rhododendron's which I believe need to covered with burlap, but I'd like to confirm that. Thanks for any help you can offer!

grandpasrose
Greener Thumb

Welcome to the Forum fellow Canadian!!
I can help you with the monkshood - you should probably stake them while they are blooming if they get too tall as you don't want them blowing over and breaking. In the fall, cut them off, and they will regrow in the spring! It will bloom earlier than this next year. It's a very easy plant to grow. 8)

As far as the Rhodos, I have only a little experience with them, and it hasn't been that successful, so maybe someone else out there can give you some tips?.............

Feel free to come back to the forum any time, for questions, answers, or just a comment. Best of luck! :wink:
VAL

dmconnor
Newly Registered

That's great! If it ever stops raining, I'll get them staked. Thanks for your help! :D

grandpasrose
Greener Thumb

Not a problem! That's what we're here for! I hear you about the rain. I don't remember when it started it's been so long.
Enjoy your monkshood, and drop back in any time! :wink:
VAL

Can anyone out there help with the question regarding rhodos? Anybody........

The Helpful Gardener
Mod

Here I am Val...

Depends on the zone DM is at. Not really necessary for me, but it sure would be for you...

What say you DM? No membership means I have no info on you...

HG

dmconnor
Newly Registered

I'm still figuring out how all this works. I have a login - is that the same as a membership? I think I'm in zone 3 or 4..... lots of winter, that's for sure!

dmconnor
Newly Registered