Karyn
Newly Registered

New to petunia seeds and way over planted

Hi!

First of all, thank you for having me in Helpful Gardener! I'm new and this is my very first post so please forgive if I'm not asking questions properly or in wrong area.

I'll start by giving a general background of my Petunia dilemma and then cut to my question. Since I'm extremely new to this I feel like I need to be detailed so please forgive that as well.

Every year I get freaked out by the extreme prices of unhealthy looking, short lasting petunias from the usual local sources. They not only come in cheap ugly hanging baskets that I have to put into my nice ones but they are usually poor quality at a rich man's price So I decided to purchase 6 packets of seeds and try my hand at starting from seed.

I've never had luck with seeds (very few actually sprout) SO I thought nothing of ignoring the instructions printed everywhere on the internet of putting three or four seeds per pod and I pretty much used up all six packages and, what has turned out to be, way too few pots and pods. They ALL sprouted and FAST, much to my shock.

I'm just 9 days in and have literally THOUSANDS of little sprouts which are, of course, WAY too close together (about 20 in 1 single inch) and I put them into various mediums including those little grow pod mini terrarium seed starter things to my actual hanging baskets. They are coming in like crazy.

I have them under grow lights and plastic 12 hours per day and they bend their tiny baby bodies toward the light so I turn as well as mist each morning.

My concerns and desperate need for advisement from you seasoned experts:

✓ I now realize my error in putting WAY too many seeds in each pod and pot (both).

✓ At nine days they are still too teeny and fragile to try to "thin out". I'm afraid that I'd kill all of them by trying to handle their tiny little bodies.