Grow Your Own
Newly Registered

Seed Potatoes to select from

Hi Everyone, I'm new here, just my 2nd post & have a question about seed potatoes. A little background on me... I have been an avid gardener for about 40 yrs +, always having a vegetable garden, not too scientific, just gained some knowledge from my parents when they were alive & much self taught, but pretty casual about it all. It is a hobby I very much enjoy each year, but make no claims about being an expert!! :) Just a little background to give perspective!

Now regarding the potatoes, usually I save the green potato seed & just plant them the next year, however this past year with the pandemic & being at home more, I took better care of them & hence no green ones, as I kept them hilled up better than usual!!

My question is, with me not buying seed normally & needing it this year, there is place a couple of hrs away that has a bit of seed available yet, being only two varieties, Yukon Gold & Red Chieftain. We live in Southern Ont., just across the Niagara River from Buffalo, summers get hot here, but I have lots of water. Any suggestions on what if any of these two to pick from may be compatible with our location? How about disease? One better than another? Or is there another kind better suited? Perhaps more options for seed here in Southern Ont exist? Looked online it seems sourcing was difficult for us locally.

Thanks

Vanisle_BC
Greener Thumb

Hi 'Grow your own', and welcome. I won't comment on which varieties to choose but as for availability, are you nowhere near a decent size town? Apart from garden centers, the big box stores around here all carry selections of popular seed potatoes (but not yet :)) And there's always mail order but I guess that's expensive, with shipping.

Grow Your Own
Newly Registered