HomeGrownFoodHQ
Newly Registered

Fermenting

Hello, I'm new to this forum been lurking for a bit, anyways...

I wanted to ask about Fermenting as it's something I'm interested in dabbling in. What are some of the techniques to look out for as far as getting started? Do I need to match certain herbs with different plants to get the most out of it, as far as taste is concerned?

How long does the fermentation last and how long can I keep it stored?

ElizabethA
Cool Member

I love fermenting fruits and vegetables!
I make cortido and sauerkraut mostly though. Yum! It's so good for you!

RASelkirk

My last ferment was white onions with coriander, fennel & mustard seeds. Let it run for a month and it ended up like an "oniony" sauerkraut. Stuck it in the food processor with some dill pickle and brown mustard and got a great hot dog relish. Sorry no recipe, was a simple "wing it" job...

Russ

ElizabethA
Cool Member

That sounds awesome!

imafan26
Mod

I am a beginner too. I found recipes on the internet. The most important thing is to get the ratios right for the acidity, so I am using tried and true recipes. Herbs though can probably be added as well. Herbs do have complementary flavors when paired right. I have a link to a guide that pairs herbs with almost everything. Now for wine, I go with the basics. Red for dark meat, and white for white meat. For fermenting, not all vinegar have the same acidity and lemon is less acidic so testing with a pH tester is the way to go to make sure the ferment is ready. It can also take some time depending on the ambient temperature from days to months.

https://delishably.com/spices-seasoning ... ring-Guide

ElizabethA
Cool Member