Spam
Newly Registered

Avocado seeding

So I am fairly new to gardening in general. I have been doing mostly veggies in my raised beds, but I decided to try an avocado seed.

I put it in water while being suspended by toothpicks. It has cracked and I ended up getting a main taproot. A stem started but then stopped before even getting above the seed. Lost its green look and now just kind of brown. Thought it had died, bit now more roots are starting to grow along with the main root again.

Should I just continue waiting this out? Or is this kind of a lost cause? Please help a newbie out. :wink:

applestar
Mod

It will most likely find a way to send up another stem (or multiple stems now). It’s normal to take 3-4 weeks for the stem to start growing.

While you are growing it this way, don’t let the water level go down — water roots exposed to air will die. And make sure you have it in big enough container. Also if you have this in a sunny location, avocado stems and leaves sunburn in too much direct sun — Avocado seedlings make good fun houseplant projects because they tolerate low light conditions, although you want to give it as much bright light as you can to grow a healthy plant.

If you want to keep growing it, you will need to plant in potting mix before too long so it can grow soil-roots. But you should consider this a plant growing experiment rather than intending to harvest fruits some day. It takes years to get them to blooming stage, and even then, there are other factors. My oldest ones are over 10 years old.

Gary350
Super Green Thumb