Sarahly818
Newly Registered

Wilting seed sprouts

Hello!

I'm completely new to trying to start seeds from home. After this first trial I have learned my next try will not be in peat pots. That being said, these little guys sprouted great, went for a few days that splat.... they fell over and shriveled up. Any ideas on what happened? I'm not using a grow light they are inside a south facing window. I have been watering them with a mister every 3-4 days. We live in a Wyoming and keep our house set to 70-72 so I'm wondering if the got too cold. I have them on top of our cable box which gets pretty warm but maybe not warm enough? Apparently my set up was not fancy enough for these guys! I'm going to have to invest in a light it seems!
Attachments
IMG_5938.JPG

applestar
Mod

Yeah some of them are WAY light starved and not likely to recover or salvageable.
The basil on the bottom right might make it if given brighter light (and add more growing medium mixed with some sand to support the weak elongated hypocotyl) as well as the newly sprouted (but too many too close) ones 2nd from bottom on the left.

Try adding about 1/4 inch of water to the tray these are in. If they suck that up quick, you'll know you haven't been watering enough. Cablebox puts out more heat while (TV is) on but not so much when idle. Windowsill can get cold. I would invest in a thermometer -- even temporarily divert an instant read from the kitchen.

What did you use to grow them in? If not a fertilized potting mix, you will need to fertilize right away -- weak... 1/4 strength. I prefer mixing in some wormcastings from my little vermicompost set up to the seed starting mix.

I won't talk about the peat pots -- you've already said you wont use them any more. :wink: