Oak Seer
Newly Registered

Pumpkin sprouted! But leaves are yellowing?

As a disclaimer, I'm very new to this- I could very well be doing something wrong. I know they like full sun (or so I've read) and moist, but well drained soil (two standards I believe I've met) but it just sprouted a day ago, and the leaf tips are yellowed! Is this normal? Sign of over watering or disease? Not enough sun? It's a hardy little sprout. No signs of wilt or lethargy; it stands very well on it's own!

edit: I thought I should mention I planted the seed directly into the ground (if it isn't obvious!)

here's an image of the sprout

imafan26
Mod

Did you do anything to the soil before you planted the seed, like fertilize, add compost, loosen up the soil? My guess is a little too much water. Melons actually come from dry places, they like a deep water but don't like the soil to be poorly drained or stay wet all of the time. Back off on the watering and check the soil to make sure it is just barely moist. For me this is every day but my soil drains and dries in a day.

If you did not amend the soil beforehand and the sprout survives you will need to start fertilizing after the true leaves come out. Choose a complete fertilizer and follow the label instruction. Liquid fertilizers are easier to use. Granular fertilizers should be worked into the soil and that might be harder since you don't want to disturb the roots.

Oak Seer
Newly Registered

imafan26 wrote:Did you do anything to the soil before you planted the seed, like fertilize, add compost, loosen up the soil? My guess is a little too much water. Melons actually come from dry places, they like a deep water but don't like the soil to be poorly drained or stay wet all of the time. Back off on the watering and check the soil to make sure it is just barely moist. For me this is every day but my soil drains and dries in a day.