RiseAC
Newly Registered

Tap Water vs. Distilled

Hello all, I'm no gardener nor will I pretend to be one. I'm a SUPER newbie and I have a super newbie question. I'm doing a science fair project with my son and he is trying to see what kind of water will facilitate the growth of a little bean seed. The 4 waters we used are salt, tap, spring and distilled. His hypothesis is that the distilled water, being the most free of impurities, will facilitate the most growth. The bean in the distilled water cup is coming along nicely, however, after two weeks, the bean in the tap water has exploded in growth and the stem and leaves are now poking out of the top of the cup.

What about the tap water lead to something like this?

applestar
Mod

Is he at the reporting stage of his experiment? Is he stumped for explanation?
We shouldn't tell him the answer just yet, I should think? Give him the time and chance to think about this a bit more....

RiseAC
Newly Registered

Yes. For the first 5 days there was no activity in any of the the four cups (he was watering lightly every two days and it has been cloudy and cold here in S.E Texas). Once we started getting sunlight it took only two days until a small stem began to poke through the bean in the distilled water cup.

A few more days and both distilled and tap water cups have sprouted a little stem and leaves. Two more days later and the tap water plant is much bigger while the Distilled water plant has remained unchanged. We're pretty confused as to why.

HoneyBerry
Greener Thumb

There are other variables that affect sprouting. If you were to use the same type of water on all of the seeds, there would be variability in the sprouting anyway. Some seeds will sprout faster than others and some won't sprout at all. That's how it seeds are naturally. I don't think you can conclude that the results were only because of the type of water used.

Allyn
Green Thumb