willburrrr2003

Seed depth in new greenhouse planter garden

Good afternoon All,

My name is Will. I am new to gardening and growing vegetables. I have a greenhouse for container gardening just north of Seattle, WA. This is a fist for me, but exciting. I have seeds for lettuce(bib, and two kinds of leaf lettuce) , cucumbers, pok choy, swiss chard, mesclun, spinach, basil, tyme, and dill all in my potting mix. The seeds have been in for two days, so I don't expect to see any sprouts yet. My question is on planting depth of the seeds. I planted them all about 1" down. I put6 or 7 of the tiny seeds in each hole, and the larger cucumber seeds I put 4 in each hole. I was planning on removing any extras or scraggly looking plants if I get more than one good sprout from each hole. Did I plant them to deep? I did not germinate the seeds, should I have? My boss was suggesting replanting seeds of each type shallow in each spot, should I? Thanks for any advice and help in advance! I will post an introduction later when I get home. Happy Gardening all!

Regards,

Will R.

applestar
Mod

Yes I'm afraid that's too deep.

Typically, seeds should be covered with as much soil/potting mix as they are thick. Lettuce seeds should be only barely covered if at all. Lettuce, dill, basil, thyme all need light to germinate.

Outside, you need to allow for the drying effects of the sun and wind as well as rain washing them away so maybe 1/8 inch deep. (I draw a line, put the sees down and barely cover with white play sand)

Indoors, you can actually press the seeds into moistened potting mix and as long as there is good humidity, you don't have to cover with any soil. If out of direct sunlight, you can also loosely cover with plastic food wrap to conserve moisture or use some kind of clear cover, but they must be removed the moment first seedling sprouts.

Mustard family -- asian vegs, some of the mesclun seeds like arugula are better sown about 1/8" deep.