Paul4444

Problems with bottom watering

Hi

I'm new to starting seeds indoors and I've been having a few problems that I hope you guys can help me with.

Firstly I'm growing a few annuals and perennials in promix organic seed starting mix in 60 pot flats. I have been having great success germinating the seeds using a heat mat but the problems start after that. The seedlings come off the heat mat as soon as they germinate and go under 2 t5ho lights in a room with a temp of about 67F. I have a 12 inch oscillating fan placed about 5 foot from the seedlings. My main problem is a white mold that grows on the surface of the soil. I'm bottom watering by adding water to the tray up to the drainage holes on the plastic pot and leaving it for a while until the surface is wet. The surface feels soggy rather than wet which I didn't think should happen when bottom watering. The surface of the soil still feels wet the next day and I think this is my problem. I only water the seedlings once about the top half inch of soil is dry. Can somebody please suggest what I may be doing wrong and how to fix it please. I was thinking maybe not letting the top get wet and remove the water when I just see water appearing at the surface.

Thanks

Paul

imafan26
Mod

How long are you leaving the water in the trays when you bottom water. Most of the water should be wicked up in 10 minutes, if it sits for longer than that there is too much water.

Since you are using a fan, the top of the soil will dry out faster than the bottom. Try weighing the trays when it is dry and when it is soaked and let it get almost to the dry wt before watering again.

Paul4444

Thanks. Up until the last watering I was just leaving for about 10 minutes, I read on this site that people leave it longer. How far down in the pot would you let get dry. The pots are 2 inches deep with soil about 1/2 an inch from the top. Should the fan be closer?

Thanks

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb