Lowsignal
Newly Registered

Problems starting seeds.

So, I am fairly new to gardening and planted four different types of seeds in small starter pots made of compressed compost. I planted 6 of each of the four different seeds consisting of two watermelon varieties, a pumpkin and a cantaloupe. It has been three days since I planted them and there are no signs of growth. I actually dug out two of the seeds and they have no sign of sprouting.
I think that it most likely has something to do with my soil composition, but it might just not be enough time. So.. my soil is mainly peat moss with equal parts black cow, cow manure and a soil mix.

applestar
Mod

Soil mix sounds too rich. Nix the cow manure and add sand or perlite for better drainage.

Check out this thread. watermelon and melons started 4/19 last year. It took longer than three days for them to germinate. It would take even longer to sprout out of the soil.

Subject: 2014 pre-germinating/sprouting experiment Peas, Corn, Curcs
applestar wrote:As I mentioned in the other thread, I decided to pre-germinate the corn before planting this spring.

...I don't know why, but I decided since I also wanted to start these squash and melons inside this year, I might as well pre-germinate them as well. I tossed them all in the same sprouter because I can tell the corn apart and I'm not going to worry about the squash and melons -- I can tell the kind of seeds apart, and the same crop are going in the same beds since I'm not concerned about saving seeds or cross pollination with these.

Corn and small squash 04/19/14 Seed sprouter
Corn (Bloody Butcher, Cherokee long ear; Experimental Hybrid Sweet from Early Bird Garden), squash (Japanese Pie mixta, Seminole moschata, and Red Kuri maxima) plus melon (Ananas D'Amerique A Chair Vert), watermelon (Early Moonbeam, Sugar Baby, Charleston Grey)
image.jpg