fourfortytwo

Sow vs. Transplant. Cauliflower tricky? Rosemary from seed?

First post ever, hello, I saw a lot of insight combing over this site and thought I'd throw out a few questions.
I'm trying a wide variety of vegetables, herbs, and flowers.
A few questions (my garden setup is in my signature):
1. I'm trying the veronica romanesco cauliflower for its unique appearance, I read a lot of their intolerance to heat. Given my climate, should I try to sow in the summer for a fall crop, or put out transplants right on june 1st, this would mean at a estimated 78 days to maturity they'd be fruiting in the heat of august, (hence the shade cloth, which I've never used before due to its cost but bought just enough for two of the beds). Opinions?
2. Rosemary. Purchased "primed" seeds from Johnnys selected seeds, which say to start them 12 weeks (!) before transplant/last frost. Any tips on why germinating rosemary seeds is difficult, or how to help them along?
3. Definitely starting pepper, tomato, muskmelon (cantaloupe), squash, cucumbers, eggplants, and a few flower varieties indoors, however. Two I can't decide on . I'm doing a 105 day "nautic" brussel sprouts, 55 day "Chioggia" beets, of these two I cannot decide whether to direct seed for fall, or try to get them in early from transplant. Will take quality/yield over being first-to-market. Prehaps I could do both, but my seed-starting area is limited.

Thanks in advance for replies, My ambition outweighs my experience but I'd like go full-on homesteading and farming for profit, so maybe some experienced minds could help out. Thanks again.

NJ Bob
Cool Member

I didn't have any problem germinating rosemary but it is extremely slow-growing.

PaulF
Greener Thumb

Welcome.