Peter1142
Green Thumb

Seed starting help

So I just bought a house with a solid 1/4 acre of garden beds and extensive plantings to take care of. And I am new to all this.

My wife and I are planning our first garden and have planted a bunch of stuff indoors to start. We planted Okra, Squash of various types (don't know why we started these indoors but we did), tomatoes, peppers, beets, and eggplant, and also oregano and basil.

The tomatoes and eggplant haven't come up yet but I am sure we will have similar issues with them.

So the squash are getting their true leaves and are 2-3 inches high. There are planted in one of those containers with like 1.5" square planters in like an egg carton type thing. There are two of them per planter, and they seem to be outgrowing the planter.

So my questions are, what do I do with them? Do I cut them down to one per planter or plant them together in a hill? Also since it is not safe to plant them outside for 3 weeks or so, I will need to transplant them indoors? The planters are peat pots maybe since squash doesn't like to be transplanted I can put the smaller peat pots in a bigger peat pot? :)

We have similar issues with the Okra, and the beets we planted are sprouting up like crazy 5-10 per planter!! Not sure what to do there?? Guess I have learned these seeds sprout good we should only plant one seed per thing. The oregano and basil are sprouting up like crazy also, but they are still small.

I took the cover of the greenhouse off the squash yesterday and they dried out like crazy in half a day and nearly died that quick! I was able to rescue them though!!

I'm will be back later to ask for some help identifying some of the stuff in my gardens and asking what to do. It was covered with like 6" of leaves over everything outside, it had been neglected for 1-2 years, it took us over a month of working very hard just to dig everything out. Looks like I can kiss my free time goodbye :)