jordanleereynols

Starting Peppers and Tomatoes...basics please

This is my first year of starting plants indoors. I have no real problem buying more mature peppers and tomato plants later in the year, but I would get a lot more satisfaction out of starting them.

All I need is basics for starting them. I have them planted in the same planter, with the most expensive potting soil ACE had. The basic questions I have, mostly from reading things on here is:

1: should I be using a heating pad and only a heating pad until I get germination?

2: should I be using a light and only a light once the plants sprout?

3: should the light be on the plants 24/7? I'm not sure this is feesible for me, I'm afraid of fire hazard.

Thank you for your help....and hello to everyone on here, as this is my first post....long time site stalker though haha

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Yes your tomatoes and peppers will germinate a lot better on a heating pad (or some other source of warmth). Once they get the first true leaves, I take them off the heating pad.

Yes you will need some lighting. In general, just window light isn't enough. A regular fluorescent tube in shop light fixture works fine. But it needs to be just 2-3 inches above the plants, on a chain so that it can be raised as the plants grow.

No, not 24/7. Like the rest of us, plants need some rest time. 16 hrs a day of light is fine. You can get timers cheap, but I just do it manually--turn the lights on when I get up and turn them off when I'm going to bed.

Best wishes, hope it goes well for you! It's definitely time to get started. I started my peppers end of January, tomatoes Valentine's day. Next year you may want to start a little earlier -- at least for those of us that like to have ripe tomatoes in June! :)

wordwiz
Green Thumb