JLudin

HELP! - Tomato, peppers and others not starting well

Hello all, brand new to the forum. This is my first time starting seeds indoors. I'm having a bit of trouble. I bought a 4' shop light with 2 plant bulbs. I am also using a 72 cell Jiffy greenhouse. I started them out in my rec room where it is NOT heated. So I instead bought a head pad, put down a towel, and folded it up over the sides to keep the heat in. Every now and then, I'd take them in the house and put them over a heat register. This seemed to work ok and my tomatoes germinated in about a week and a half. They started out GREAT. After a week or so, a jalapeno came up, but was extremely leggy and drooped over in a matter of 2 days. Since then, everything else has come up (green peppers, banana peppers, serrano, basil, eggplant, etc etc) but quickly stopped. My tomatoes have not gotten any bigger and everything else has also halted progress. Now a lot of the seed leaves are getting some discolored tips. Another big mistake I think I made was watering them from the top and leaving the heat dome on through most of the process.

Today I finally moved them in the house with the plant lights and all. I have them about 4" from the tray hoping to rejuvenate them. Is it too late? Should I cut my losses and start all over?

One more issue too is I soaked my habanero and pablano seeds for 4 days before planting them and they still have yet to germinate. It's coming up on 4 weeks now.

HELP!!! I'm as green as they get with this stuff. Any tips or recommendations would be extremely helpful! Thanks!

forceten

Overwatered........

Also when you water only water the soil itself.

I take my domes off once I get most sprouting..... and they come off the heating pad too.

wordwiz
Green Thumb

I take domes off and remove them from heating mats as soon as the first seed pops up!

Mike

ozark_rocks