ShelbySue
Newly Registered

Tall seedlings?

I am new at this gardening game and I have a few flowers (violas, johnny jump ups and chamomile that my kids picked out) and some early veggies (cabbage, pepper & lettuce) sprouting. I had them under a dome for about 6 days with a seed heating mat and I just put them under lights yesterday.

These tiny sprouts are very tall with tiny leaves, especially the cabbage. Is this normal? They seem to look nothing like some of the photos on the forum I've seen as squat, leafy robust plants.

Do you have any advice when I start my next round of seeds (tomatoes, basil and echinacea)?

Last year I started seeds and ended up killing everything off prior to getting them in the garden. I figure they were too humid.

Thanks for your input!

applestar
Mod

As soon as the first seedling peeks out of the soil -- the loopy part of the sprout, remove the dome and put the container under a bright light. Usually fluorescent light tubes positioned no more than 4 inches above the soil level -- I.e. THE TOP OF THE PLANT -- this needs to be adjusted as they plants grow by raising the container or lowering the light. I like using 100W equivalent Daylight tubes or CFLs.

With violas, johnny jump-ups, chamomile, cabbage and lettuce -- all cool weather crops, you can take them off the heat mat after they germinate. Peppers can stay on the mat until true leaves grow out or even longer. Pepper roots seem to really appreciate bottom heat.

I bottom-water as needed but mist them every morning. Some people don't believe this is beneficial. I think it depends on the humidity level in your house. Providing some kind of air movement -- small personal fan or oscillating fan -- can help the seedlings become stronger. Another way to stimulate sturdy cell walls is to give the container a 1/4 turn every day so the seedlings will get even light and compensate for any difference in light intensity.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb