suzi-cee
Newly Registered

Growing herbs from seeds indoors

Hi all,

This might be a stupid question, but I'm new to this indoor growing lark and could use some wisdom!

I have before grown my own herbs successfully with a greenhouse and container garden (outside), however I now live in an apartment with no garden so have to get creative. I would love to grow some herbs from seed, I was thinking something like the classic basil, and then maybe also those more used to warmer climates so they don't overheat indoors (although not sure what yet!). I now live in Finland, which is very northern, and at the moment we don't have very much light so I'm not thinking of starting right now. However, as they are inside, the warmth shouldn't be a problem (or will it?), so how much light do you think I would need to wait for before I could start some seeds on the windowsill?

Or, more generally, is this a really bad idea? I just have the major winter blues and am itching to start growing something, but having never seeded indoors I have no idea if it would work or whether everything would just either bolt or wither up and die! I saw the other day that the shops are starting to stock seeds, but I still think it's a little early, but what do you think?

Also, I don't really have the chance to add a grow light or anything industrial as my other half would throw a bit of a fit if I turned the house into a garden centre. It needs to stay aesthetically pleasing if at all possible (it's a relatively small flat). See, it's a challenge eh!

Thanks for any advice,

S

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Do some browsing around in this section, there's lots of good info!

I think you will have a difficult time growing very many herbs with just window sill light. You might try some parsley, which can manage with lower light levels.