The Helpful Gardener
Mod

Orchard Trees

This is a hard lesson for me to follow. Years of pruning technique are called to question; have I truly done so much harm? Last year I pruned a clients apple trees that produced badly the year before. Hard. They produced gangbusters this year. But they had been pruned before and had gotten congested, making pruning difficult and laborious.

I will not prune leaders, and Sensei is most correct in assuming a leader in citrus. But apples? I think there is a series of degrees here, but I am no fruit expert. I would love to hear from some...

HG

applestar
Mod

There is also the issue of space.... I can't afford not to prune. I don't have the room to grow full sized trees. Besides, we're already messing with nature by growing grafted trees.

What would happen if I let these "natures abominations" (?) grow as they will? Would the dwarfing rootstock be sufficient to curb the top growth? Would the top grow beyond the capacity of the rootstock to support it?

What about my espaliered fruit trees? :shock:

If you have the space to grow natural growth trees on their own roots would they grow well? Apples, I think we talked about before in ref to Michael Pollan's book Botany of Desire -- that they have been severely domesticated. I think there is a general belief (true or not) that most modern apple cultivar CAN'T grow on their own roots. Even standard size apples are grafted. So go back to the antique apples? What about all the disease and insect resistance that have been bred into them? What about that most apples were bred for cider or cooking apples until the more recent preference for fresh dessert apples changed the market and direction of apple cultivation?

Well that's just talking about apples, but other fruit trees may have similar issues.

The Helpful Gardener
Mod

AS seems to have the same issues I am having with this section, but are we clinging to old thinking or actually making true distinctions?