Gary350
Super Green Thumb

Tomato sauce, Spaghetti sauce, Pizza sauce, Taco sauce.

I found a Youtube video, how they make tomatoes sauce in Italy. This family has been making tomato sauce for about 100 years. It use to be done by hand but now they have machines. They showed how to make sauce both ways. I studied this video to learn the best way to make tomato sauce at home. I had to watch the video again to make notes.

1. Pick ripe tomatoes then let them rest in the house 2 to 3 days this brings out the best sweet flavor of the tomatoes.

2. Cut tomatoes into 4 pieces then drop them into a colander so the seeds and juice run out through the holes.

3. Bring cut tomatoes with skins to a boil for about 15 minutes to soften the tomato pulp and cook flavor from the skins into the pulp.

4. When cooked tomatoes have cooled run them through a screen wire strainer to save pulp and remove seeds & skins. This was not easy for me so I put cooked tomatoes into food processor this removed pulp and did not chop up the skins. Now it is easy for tomato sauce to pass through the screen wire leaving skins behind.

5. Add, salt, vinegar, sugar, to taste. In the video they added salt 3 times, stir & taste 3 times. Next they add vinegar stir & taste several times, next add sugar stir & taste several times. Then they added salt 2 more times stir & taste each time. A little more vinegar & a little more sugar tomato sauce was finished. Sugar hides the salt & vinegar taste but salt & vinegar gives sauce good flavor.

6. People in video put 1 basil leave into each empty glass jar then fill jars with tomato sauce.

Tomato sauce taste very good to me but wife needs to taste this to see what she thinks. Wife said, that is very good, I think this is better then Hunts tomato sauce that we buy. Wife opened a can of Hunts tomato sauce and said, next year we make 30 jars of that tomato sauce for our pantry.