ElizabethB
Super Green Thumb

Bread Thread

Hi All :!:

I want to learn to make bread. Preferably whole grain.

I do not own a stand mixer or a bread machine.

I am a very good home cook but I have no experience with baking.

Talk to me like a 3 year old.

Recipes - yes

I need more information. What tools do I need? I will not purchase a stand mixer any time soon so keep it rustic. Be specific.

I have not engaged in baking because it requires precision.

I need very detailed instructions. I promise to follow instructions.

The more information the better.

:shock: I can not believe that I want to make my own bread. Take my temperature please. I must be ill! :>

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb

I've tried to send this twice but both times my computer went stupid and shut down. Hope this goes through this time.

This is a recipe I use and it is from a La. based cookbook called "Talk About Good" published by the Junior League of Lafayette and had tons of traditional La. Cajun and Creole recipes.

Herb/Parmesan Bread:

2 cups warm water
2 pkgs. yeast
2 tbsp. sugar
2 tsp. salt
2 tbsp. butter
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
1 1/2 tbsp. Oregano---or any other herb you like. I prefer Rosemary and will usually bake 2 loaves, 1 oregano and 1 rosemary
4 1/4 cups flour------I prefer bread flour, but the recipe doesn't designate which, whether AP or bread flour

Sprinkle yeast over the water in a large bowl and let it stand for a few minutes, then stir. Add sugar, salt, butter, 1/2 cup cheese, oregano, 3 cups flour and beat this until it gets smooth. Then beat in the rest of the flour until a ball is formed.

Cover the bowl with waxed paper and a towel and let the dough rise for 45 minutes in a warm place. Grease a bread pan (I use one of those 5 x 9 metal pans), but the recipe calls for a 1 1/2 to 2 qt. casserole dish. Set your oven to 375 degrees.