gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

Question about making tomato sauce.

Okay I have the canner I have the tomatoes I even have the Blue Book. What I don't have is a food mill or other mechanical device to remove the skins and seeds.

I thought about removing as many seeds as I could before cooking them thus saving seed at the same time. Thought about freezing since that makes the skins easier to remove. These may be hair brained ideas but.....

How would you do it without a Mill or anything?

Thank you very much. This is my first time I have a ton of questions.

Dono

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb

1) Skins: blanch the tomatoes. The skins will start to split, and when you plunge the tomatoes into iced (or at least very cold) water, you'll be able to remove the skins easily.

2) Seeds: Cut the now peeled tomatoes crosswise (across the "equator"). There's no genteel way to describe this procedure, but smoosh out the jelly and seeds, making them "splut" into a bowl or other container. Do NOT compost the seeds, unless your compost pile runs pretty hot.

Chop them up if you want, or just put them into the cooking pot and take off!

I've done this; it took quite a while with the Romas we grew that year. Kind of on the small side, but TONS OF THEM.

Cynthia H.
Sunset Zone 17, USDA Zone 9

gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

Thanks Cynthia I was expecting you. :D How easy is that, I always make things out to be harder than they are.

I have had a rotaion of 10 - 12 cups of seed rotating every 3 day's for a month and half or better. So I will be saving seed as I am doing this. 8)
Last edited by gixxerific on Fri Aug 03, 2012 5:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

here is another. I want to make the seasoned sauce in the Ball Book. That calls for 45 lb.s of tomatoes. :shock: Though I could do 45 I would probably have to freeze some till I had that much. Can I safely just half every item in the recipe and be good?

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb