Aya

Preserving Fresh Vegetables..Question?

Hello Everyone,

I'm kind of new to preserving fresh vegetables from my garden and had a quick question. When freezing vegetables, will they maintain their texture/crunchiness upon thawing? I remembered last year trying to freeze carrots (I use a food sealing system) and when I took them out of the freezer they were soft. Does this happen with all veggies or is it a carrot thing? I'd love to be able to freeze Broccoli, Snow Peas, Beans Etc..but I want to make sure they hold up well first.

Sorry this is so long :lol:

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb

Aya wrote:Hello Everyone,

I'm kind of new to preserving fresh vegetables from my garden and had a quick question. When freezing vegetables, will they maintain their texture/crunchiness upon thawing? I remembered last year trying to freeze carrots (I use a food sealing system) and when I took them out of the freezer they were soft. Does this happen with all veggies or is it a carrot thing? I'd love to be able to freeze Broccoli, Snow Peas, Beans Etc..but I want to make sure they hold up well first.

Sorry this is so long :lol:
I've never had any frozen vegetable stay as crunchy as fresh with the exception of corn. Things like green beans, broccoli, soybeans, etc. I'll blanch them in boiling water then put them in a sink of cold water to stop them from cooking. Then I'll put them in freezer bags after they've dried off a bit, get as much air out as possible and seal them. If you have the vacuum sealing system, all the better in the long run.

Aya

I also read up on the blanching, which seems to be the suggested route. I'm not sure now if I should just have fewer plants/vegetables that need freezing or if I should get used to less than perfect texture from freezing :D

gumbo2176
Super Green Thumb