Chaesman

Want to learn preservation basics

Now that the weather hear has finally dropped to freezing temps. I want to shift my learning a little bit. I have never canned or pressure canned and do not have the equiptment to do so at the moment. (But Christmas is just around the corner so who knows)

I would however like to know the basics for preserving some veggies in the freezer ( I do have one of them)

If you explain to me that you must do this or that first please try not to use technical terms like blanching seeing as this doesn't tell me much like I said I need to take baby steps and learn as if I have never done this before because I haven't.

Thanks
Jon

lorax
Greener Thumb

Blanching is nothing more than a fancy term for ''cook in steam for 3 minutes or so.''

Basically, cut up your veg, blanch them, let them cool, pop in freezer bags, suck the air out (I use a straw in the corner of the bag: the poor woman's vaccuum sealer), and toss in the freezer. :D

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb

Any complete cookbook (Joy of Cooking, 1979 and the MOST recent incarnation; avoid like the plague the late '80s "Tapas Joy of Cooking," which omitted canning altogether) will have a good description of basic food-preservation techniques:

blanching
freezing
drying
canning
pickling
and some others

Look through any cookbooks in your house for such information. There is no way to learn without familiarizing yourself with the basic vocabulary of the field, so a printed source is good; no one will know that you're thumbing back and forth to save your life! no cookies to track your movements, just blissful privacy and learning. :D

Cynthia H.
Sunset Zone 17, USDA Zone 9

Chaesman

Thank you for the explantion of blanching and the example of poor man/woman vaccum sealing.