ddinnsen
Newly Registered

Why are some plants in the same row yellow?

I have been growing kale for almost 10 years, but lately most of my plants turn yellow and most of those eventually die. See attached photo. I don't see how it could be a nutrient or pH problem when some plants in the same solution are healthy. I'm also having a hard time starting new plants as the vast majority of new seedlings start out great and then, after a couple weeks, turn yellow and die. Any ideas?
Attachments
20230925_201957.jpg

pepperhead212
Super Green Thumb

Welcome to the forum!

Sorry to hear about your problem. So is it only the kale that's turning yellow, while other plants are staying green and healthy? Are you using a new batch of seeds, or a new variety? The only thing I can think of would maybe be a bad batch of seeds.

imafan26
Mod

The younger ones look nutrient deficient. Is this a flow by system? and what formula are you using.

One of the main issues I see is that it looks like you have kinds of plants and plants of different ages in the same system. Usually, you don't do this, The larger plants will suck up more of the nutrients because they have larger root systems. Normally, you put plants with similar nutrient needs that can use the same nutrient formula and plants of the same age using the same reservoir Unless you have a controller it would be difficult to meet the needs of different plants and different stages of growth.

ddinnsen
Newly Registered

I’m only growing Premier Kale with a few Cilantro plants (I think there is one dead seedling in the photo). For nutrients I’m using a formula optimized for curly Kale by research conducted by a university that I have forgotten. I have been using it for years and nothing has changed. I also tried draining the system and starting with fresh water, and that did not help. Sorry that the spreadsheet did not paste well, and I can't attach a spreadsheet.

Below is the formula:
grams