Joxxarn
Newly Registered

Tips for a portable wick system

Hello everyone!

I'm an architecture student currently working with a project aimed to help refugees living a nomad lifestyle in campsites. I have an idea of a simple portable wick system that they can take with them moving from camp to camp.

I'm new to the world of hydroponics and I'm trying to figure out the most cost-effective system for my intent. A wick system seems to be the best option as it's the only passive hydroponics system, as far as I know.

I'm aiming to produce a prototype this week and my idea is to design something similar to a foldable toolbox that you can simply place on the ground, fold out and start using.

I'm hoping to avoid using too much plastic and mostly wood instead. Do you have any tips of how I can get started? Looking mostly for good sources of small scale wick systems (max 50x50 cm) that I can research.

I'm also curious what's possible to effectively grow in a small-scale wick system. I'm hoping to be able to grow nutrious foods, such as black beans.

Any ideas and suggestions are welcome.

Thanks in advance.

imafan26
Mod