Andhrimnir
Newly Registered

Hydroponics root rot

Hey:)

I'm currently struggeling with hydroponics. I'm very new to this. I read in forums that light and other stuff may cause problems so I decided to use a 500 ml mason jar that I painted, the only light inside comes from a 5mm slit I use to check on the roots and the water level and it's turned away from the light source. To my problem. whenever I change the nutrition solution the roots die within 2 days and new roots are forming. the plant is grwoing steadily though. I always see a white fuzz on the roots when they die. They turn lightbrown in 10h and coninue to get darker up until the 2nd day where they are basically black (see the photo) when I only add water though they do quite fine and a lot of roots develope quite fast. I use the flora series, with a ph down and a root enhancer always in the concentration that is written on either the botthle or the feedchart (recirculating) as well a a sip op h2o2 but am not to sure whetere it has any effect at all.. I used destilled water and tap water and stuck to the tap water as I couldn't keep the destilled water's ph in the 5.5-6.0 zone. the temp in the glass is between 23-25 deg aka room temperature. Is there anything else I can do? Thanks for any suggestion!
greetings!
Attachments
IMG_20180721_091926 f.jpg

imafan26
Mod

Brown roots means the system is not balanced.
If you are using tap water, is it chlorinated? If the water is chlorinated collect it 24 hours to few days in advance and allow it to sit out and stir or aerate it until the chlorine off gasses.