adkii
Newly Registered

Kratky Newbie

Hello, I’m a newbie and I am doing the kratky method with lettuce and herbs. I have 4 Swiffer containers with 2 lettuces each. I also have lettuce in 20oz bottles. When I moved the seedlings to their containers on 5/29/18, I used 1/2 strength nutrients. I grow the plants indoors under lights. The plants have used close to 1/2 of nutrient solution. When should I bump the plants up to full strength nutirents? Should I pour out the old nutrients and start fresh with full strength nutrients? If I do, it wont go to waste because I can apply to my plants outside.

imafan26
Mod

Usually you use full strength solution (master blend for lettuce) Use an aerator to add oxygen and keep the mosquitoes down. It also enhances growth. You grow out your lettuce seedlings in plug trays. We use oasis foam since it won't fall apart and leave silt on the bottom of the tank. Since lettuce is a 30 day crop, you should be able to complete the cycle on just one tank full. Kratky grew lettuce on 2 liter bottles. The solution is supposed to evaporate and should not be topped off since that will change the dilution. As long as some of the roots still touch the water, the rest of the roots will be air roots. As long as the roots are white, they are healthy.

https://www.ctahr.hawaii.edu/hawaii/dow ... method.pdf
This is an exerpt from Kratky's paper.

"The basic concepts of non-circulating hydroponic systems (Kratky, 1996b) include:
1.) The upper part of the root system should be exposed to air with high relative
humidity; 2.) Roots must not be allowed to dry out; 3.) The lower portion of the root
Kratky, B.A. 2004. A suspended pot, non-circulating hydroponic method. Proceedings of
the South Pacific Soilless Culture Conference, Acta Hort. 648. p. 83-89.
system should gather water and nutrients; 4.) Nutrient solution level may remain the same
or be lowered, but it may not be raised or else the roots will ‘drown’.