Intok
Newly Registered

Tomato and Bell pepper problem

Hey everyone. I'm pretty new to hyrdro, but have been growing in soil for years. I've recently started my first batch of tomatoes and bell peppers. The tomatoes have been getting deep indentations in the lower leaves and eventually dying off from the lower leaves up. I've checked all the normal things. Air temp, lighting hours, nutrient temp, aeration, ventilation, ph. I'm sure someone here will recognize the pictures. I can't figure it out even with all the research I've been doing. Any advice would be appreciated.
Attachments
20180223_154002[1].jpg
20180222_190606[1].jpg

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

the marks left behind by some kind of sucking/piercing insect. Thrips and spider mites can be very tiny and difficult to spot. Try shaking the leaves over a piece of paper, see if you see any tiny dots.

In the meantime, your baby tomato plant looks a bit spindly and stretched. It may not be getting enough light and/or nutrients. I can't see in the picture what kind of lighting you have, but it needs to be right down over your plant(s). Being spindly will make them more attractive and vulnerable to whatever insect pests are around.

You want them looking more like this:

short, stocky stems, lots of leaves, not much space between leaf nodes, darker green.

Intok
Newly Registered

Thanks for the reply. The tomatoes I planted are a variety that should only grow to 12" tall. I've been all over the plants with a magnifying glass and can't find any insects at all. I'm wondering if its some kind of nutrient deficiency. I'm using a General Hydroponics veg mix at about 25% strength or less. Unfortunately I don't have the gear to test for PPM. Insects aside, could there be a PH or nutrient issue here? I'll post a pic of my bell pepper leaves that have just started to exhibit similar problems on its lower established leaves.
Attachments
20180225_153203[1].jpg

applestar
Mod