imafan26
Mod

Aquaponics or hydroponics, what is the difference

I am just learning about water culture

Can someone explain the differences between hydroponics/aeroponics and aquaponics
All I have learned so far is that aquaponics would be organic, hydroponics uses chemicals so it is not.
Is there a taste difference between lettuce grown in each type of system?
Aquaponics cannot provide all the nutrients that lettuce or some other crops need. Using organic fertilizers keeps it organic. But can anything actually thrive in an aquaponic system without the added fertilizers?
I know lettuce grows faster in water based systems than in soil but there is a big difference in wt between hydroponic and aeroponics. The lettuce looks bigger in aeroponics but is a lot lighter.

How do you control disease and pests in hydroponics. Algae and slugs
How do you you control slugs and snails in an aquaponic system and are certain crops harder on the fish?
What kinds of vegetables and fruits are suitable for growing in a water based system.

I know that in aquaponics, beneficial organisms, worms and bacteria are used in the biofilters to convert the ammonia produced by the fish into nitrites and then nitrates. But plants need phosphorus and potassium too as well some micronutrients. If you are using floating rafts or rock wool, where does it come from?

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

It sounds like you probably know as much about it as I do. I've never done either. But aquaponics is really a kind of hydroponics. The word is a mash-up of aquaculture, farming food fish in tanks, and hydroponics, growing plants in water, without soil. So aquaponics is really a kind of hydroponics, but with the fish linked to the plants, so that they provide nutrients for each other. In the Far East they have done this forever, growing fish in the rice paddies. In the Western world, modern aquaponics, with pumps etc only started in the 1970's and only got popularized in the 1990's.