shonpierson
Newly Registered

Questions for the Hydroponic users.

hey guys I am new to hydroponics and have began to research the topic. And I was wondering if people could let me know a few things about it.

1). why choose hydroponics of soil?

2) what are some of the benefits hydroponics have on plant growth?

3). what are some downsides to using hydroponics?

4). What are some current issues related to hydroponics? Or what issues are you personally having with hydroponics.

brogz

shonpierson wrote: 1). why choose hydroponics of soil?
I'm not sure what you mean here....

2) what are some of the benefits hydroponics have on plant growth?
Plants grow faster and bigger since they don't need to spend so much energy on growing roots since the nutrients and water are available closer to the plant.

3). what are some downsides to using hydroponics?
Dependency on electricity. All forms need a air pump to aerate the nutrient solution. Some need pumps to bring the solution the plants. Lights if indoors. Some more things could be used.

4). What are some current issues related to hydroponics? Or what issues are you personally having with hydroponics.
Keeping the pH at 5.8 granted where it is at it fine I'm just picky.

fintuckyfarms

shonpierson wrote:hey guys I am new to hydroponics and have began to research the topic. And I was wondering if people could let me know a few things about it.

1). why choose hydroponics of soil? So I don't have to weed, bend over, prepare the soil and I can plant whatever I want whenever I want.

2) what are some of the benefits hydroponics have on plant growth? Plants seem to grow and mature faster and yeild more. There is no set grow season and you can grow inside the house, in a greenhouse or outdoors.

3). what are some downsides to using hydroponics? You have to watch the nutrient temperatures very closley and since there is not any soil to act as a buffer, if something goes wrong it goes wrong fast.