Boomslang
Cool Member

My hydro system..............

Here is a pic of my hydroponic system that I made. I'm still new to hydro, however. I bought a 24" grow light with 8 T5 bulbs. I grew some cantaloupe just to see how it would do inside. They did fine until they were about 4 weeks grown, then the leaves started turning brown and splotchy. I believe I had my nutrients too strong when I last changed them. Trying to decide what to try next. Any suggestions?

[img]https://i1100.photobucket.com/albums/g413/Boomslang131/Picture076.jpg[/img]

This pic is when I was cleaning out my system :)

TCHarris32

Any veggie that you will eat. I am currently doing my first grow and I am doing tomatoes and my soon to be 8 year old has a green pepper plant going.

Out of curiosity, why are your air stones tied to those wire baskets?

Boomslang
Cool Member

Was really just trying to keep them off the bottom and a little closer to the root system. Don't guess it matters much since the bubbles will float up anyway. :lol: I tend to over-think things a bit.
How much do you cut back on the nutrients according to what the nutrient label recommends. I think that's what happened to my cantaloupe experiment. I cut back some but not enough and caused nute burn.

TCHarris32

I'm using Botanicare Power plant and at the recommended 15mL/G it puts the TDS at about 825-850ppm. For vegetative, I am told that's too high. My plants seem to be doing alright but next time around now that I have a TDS meter, I'll be watching more closely. So I guess what I'm saying is probably start out about 25% and see what happens. If you don't have a TDS meter, get one. The TDS-3 is about $37msrp and so far appears to work well. You can find it cheaper online if you look around.

As far as the stones go, I would probably take them off the racks. The root systems will grow around that and you'll have a headache on your hands if you have to pull the plant for any reason. Replacing the stone, cleaning the bucket, etc...