Shelcarter
Newly Registered

HELP my ficus bonsai is slowly dying... I think

I bought a ficus ginseng (I think) a few months ago. When I got it it was full of leaves but after I set it in front of a draft area with minimal sun it lost most of it's leaves. I'm a beginner at all of this but a quick google search told me to place in a window sill with some sun and away from a draft. After moving my bonsai it started growing some leaves back. But then I got the great idea to fertilize with fertilize sticks. https://www.lowes.com/pd/Jobe-s-50-Coun ... od/3047486 I'm including the link to the ones I used. After one stick in the soil the ficus was sprouting new leaves nearly everyday. Then growth just suddenly stopped. There were even some sprouts that just stopped. So I added another stick a few weeks later. But still nothing. My watering is generally once a week but I started noticing the soil wasn't drying out. I live in a hot climate and nothing has changed temp wise inside or outside the house to account for soil staying damp longer. To water, I run water over the soil until it drips out the bottom. I also mist the leaves every day to help with humidity. I was worried about root rot, and over fertilization so this weekend I decided to empty old soil and repot in fresh soil. I may not have the best soil (just a general purpose indoor plants soil) so in the future I may need to remedy that issue. But while repotting I noticed only a few roots coming from the ends of the ginseng tubes. I'm confused if this is normal or if I damaged the roots by overwatering or over fertilizing. I would think there would be lots of roots. So, I repotted but now all my leaves are drooping. Not dropping, but drooping downward and still no new growth. Can someone please help me on how to revive this little guy? Is it stress? If so what shall I do?